Event

Exhibitions: Francis Alÿs and Avery Singer

Francis Alÿs
18 Nov. 2016–22 Jan. 2017

Alÿs transforms simple actions in the public sphere into symbolic political and poetical gestures that broach issues such as national boundaries, social inequality, or intra-communal conflict. His actions and performances often spawn a range of associated works and media.
His show at the Secession includes “Le Temps du Sommeil,” a series of small-sized paintings which have been continuously reworked since 1995 and reflect his ideas and the development of his œuvre in recent decades.

Avery Singer
18 Nov. 2016–22 Jan. 2017

The Secession presents the work of young American painter Avery Singer, whose art effortlessly integrates references to art history and contemporaneity with an exploration of the underpinnings and mechanisms of digital media.
Singer’s large-format pictures bristle with elaborate formal and semantic contradiction. Her motifs often highlight the processes of banalization that we associate with the stereotypes of the art scene and that make artistic careers appear as nostalgic, commercially constructed fantasies: ritualized behavior during studio visits, conventions
of exhibition-making, the premises of Singer’s own art production, happenings and parties …


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

Ausstellungen Francis Alÿs und Avery Singer

Francis Alÿs

  1. Nov. 2016–22. Jan. 2017

Francis Alÿs transformiert einfache Handlungen im öffentlichen Raum in symbolische politische und poetische Gesten, die Themen wie nationale Grenzen, soziale Ungleichheit oder kommunale Konflikte ansprechen. Häufig sind seine Aktionen und Performances Ausgangspunkt für eine Bandbreite zugehöriger Arbeiten, die verschiedene Medien verknüpfen.
In der Secession zeigt Alÿs mit »Le Temps du Sommeil« eine seit 1995 fortlaufend überarbeitete Serie von kleinformatigen Gemälden, die seine Ideen sowie die Entwicklung seines Werks in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten reflektiert.

Avery Singer

  1. Nov. 2016–22. Jan. 2017

Mit der amerikanischen Künstlerin Avery Singer stellt die Secession eine junge Malerin vor, die Referenzen auf Kunstgeschichte und Zeitgenossenschaft ebenso selbstverständlich in ihr Werk integriert wie die medialen Bedingungen und Mechanismen des Digitalen.
Avery Singers großformatige Bilder kennzeichnet eine formal und semantisch ausgeklügelte Widersprüchlichkeit. Ihre Motive thematisieren häufig jene Prozesse der Banalisierung, die man mit den Stereotypen des Kunstbetriebs assoziiert und die Künstlerkarrieren als nostalgische, kommerziell konstruierte Fantasie erscheinen lassen: ritualisierte Verhaltensweisen bei Atelierbesuchen, Konventionen des Ausstellens, Bedingungen der eigenen Kunstproduktion, aber auch Happenings und Partys.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection