Event

departure tour - architecture, footwear, and fashion

This year’s “departure tour” by the Vienna Business Agency is a tour of the realms of architecture and fashion. Designers open the doors of their studios, offices and galleries to offer the public a glimpse of their work and design processes. The manager of the Vienna Business Agency’s creative center departure, Elisabeth Noever-Ginthör, will join in.

AllesWirdGut, an international architecture firm based in Vienna and Munich, was founded in 1999 by Andreas Marth, Friedrich Passler, Herwig Spiegl and Christian Waldner. The group sees the anticipation of future working and living space scenarios as part of what is required of emerging architecture today. With this aim in mind they collaborate with experts from other disciplines, including scientists and artists. For the design of the extremely successful magdas Hotel for Caritas Vienna in 2015, AllesWirdGut addressed a highly topical real-life scenario: they took up the issue of migration and combined it with the upcycling concept. The result was a prize-winning, internationally recognized architectural project.
www.alleswirdgut.cc

Vienna master workshop VON MORGEN has been producing modern bespoke shoes since 2014 using traditional methods – a fine example of long-lasting, uncom­promising quality craftsmanship. At the same time the makers of VON MORGEN, Nicole Üblacker and Thomas Licht, are setting new standards in sustainable footwear, created entirely from organic leather and 100% by hand: a revolutionary soling technique makes it possible to repair the inside of the shoe without having to take it all apart, or to replace sections that are still in good order. The shoes are produced and presented in their charming workshop located on Karmelitermarkt in Vienna’s second district. Those with a keen interest in handcraft can watch them being made – an opportunity to learn more about shoes by VON MORGEN and feel their quality first-hand.
www.vonmorgen.at

The FEMME MAISON fashion label was founded in 2012 by fashion designer Franziska Fürpass and visual artist Sia Kermani. They draw inspiration for their collections from the works of French-American artist Louise Bourgeois, among other things. This is reflected, above all, in the Vienna label’s eagerness to experiment and their affinity for sculpture. Fashion designer Franziska Fürpass describes her work for FEMME MAISON: “Our body is influenced by our life. And yet it is more than just the sum of its parts. Ultimately, we too are more than the sum of our experiences. We can all be shaped as easily as wax.”
www.femme-maison.com


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

departure tour zu Architektur-, Massschuh- und Mode-Studios

Bei ihrer heurigen »departure tour« führt die Wirtschaftsagentur Wien in die Welt der Architektur und der Mode. Designschaffende öffnen die Türen ihrer Studios, Büros und Galerieräume, um Besucherinnen und Besuchern einen Blick auf die dort stattfindenden Designprozesse und ihre Arbeit zu gewähren. Elisabeth Noever-Ginthör, Leiterin des Kreativzentrums departure der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien, begleitet den Rundgang.

AllesWirdGut, ein international tätiges Architekturbüro mit Sitz in Wien und München, wurde 1999 von Andreas Marth, Friedrich Passler, Herwig Spiegl und Christian Waldner gegründet. Das Antizipieren künftiger Arbeits- und Lebensraum­szenarien sieht AllesWirdGut als Teil der Anforderungen an heute entstehende Architektur und kooperiert dafür mit Expertinnen und Experten anderer Disziplinen, mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie Kunstschaffenden. So hat sich AllesWirdGut mit der Planung von magdas Hotel für die Caritas Wien 2015 eines aktuellen Lebensszenarios angenommen: Für das äußert erfolgreich laufende Hotel griff man die Flüchtlingsthematik auf, kombinierte sie mit dem Upcycling-Gedanken und schuf ein prestigeträchtiges, international anerkanntes Architekturprojekt.
www.alleswirdgut.cc

Seit 2014 fertigt der Wiener Meisterbetrieb VON MORGEN nach traditionellen Methoden moderne Maßschuhe und steht dabei für langlebige, kompromisslose Handwerksqualität. Gleichzeitig setzen die Macher von VON MORGEN, Nicole Üblacker und Thomas Licht, neue Maßstäbe in Sachen nachhaltiges Schuhwerk, das zu 100 Prozent in Handarbeit aus Bio-Leder gefertigt wird: Eine revolutionäre Besohlungstechnik macht es möglich, das Innenleben später zu reparieren, ohne den gesamten Schuh zerlegen oder intakte Teile austauschen zu müssen. Hergestellt und präsentiert werden die Schuhe im charmanten Atelier am Karmelitermarkt im zweiten Wiener Bezirk. Handwerksaffine Interessierte können beim Produzieren zuschauen und mehr über die Qualität von VON MORGEN-Schuhen erfahren und erfühlen.
www.vonmorgen.at

Das Modelabel FEMME MAISON wurde 2012 von der Modedesignerin Franziska Fürpass und vom bildenden Künstler Sia Kermani gegründet. Inspiration für die Kollektionen holt man sich unter anderem bei den Werken der französisch-amerikanischen Künstlerin Louise Bourgeois. Vor allem die Experimentierfreudigkeit und der Hang zu Skulpturen lassen sich in den Kollektionen des Wiener Damenmode-Labels erkennen. »Unser Körper wird durch unser Leben beeinflusst. Und doch ist er mehr als nur die Summe seiner Teile. Schließlich sind auch wir mehr als die Summe unserer Erfahrungen. Wir alle sind so formbar wie Wachs«, beschreibt Modesignerin Franziska Fürpass die Arbeit für FEMME MAISON.
www.femme-maison.com


Share your selection:
Add event to selection